THE ROMAN AGORA
In the ruins of the Roman Agora, there is a main attraction that is found in the general archaeological area that is surrounded by the streets of Epameinonda, Areos, Polygnotou and Markou Avrliou in Plaka. We are talking about the many times renamed Clock of Andronicus of Cyrrhus - also known as Horologion, Tower of Wind or, simply, Aerides (a name that was borrowed by the area between Plaka and Monstiraki).
The actual Roman Agora is a large building, 111 x 98 m in dimension, with a rectangular courtyard that is surrounded by stoas, stores and warehouses. It has two propylaea, one of Ionian style (east) and another of Dorian style (west), known as the Gate of Athena Archegetis - the best preserved structure of the area.
The Roman Agora was built between 19-11 B.C. from the donations of Julius Caesar and Augustus. The courtyard was tiled during the reign of the Emperor Hadrian. After the Herulian invasion (267) and the constraint of Athens inside the post-Romaic wall, the administrative and commercial center of the city was transferred from the Ancient Agora to the Roman Agora and the Library of Hadrian.
During the Byzantine era and Ottoman domination the Roman Agora became occupied by houses, workshops, churches and the Mosque of Fethiye Djami. Furthermore, during the 18th Century the Tower of the Winds (Aeridon) was converted into a monastery by "derbisites" (better known as Muslim practitioners).
Systematic excavations of the Roman Agora originally began by Italian archaeologists during 1940-42 and were continued by the Archaeological Society at Athens, after the necessary demolitions were brought to fruition. The Tower of the Winds was excavated between 1837 and 1845 by the Archaeological Society because with the passing of time the monument became semi-buried into the ground. The restoration works at the Roman Agora began in 1915 - with the most recent being that of the Department of Acropolis in 1975-76 on the Tower of the Winds and the Gate of Athena Archegetis.
Roman Agora (Archaeological Area)
10555 Athens (Greece)
Tel. +30 210 - 3224625
HOW TO GET THERE
BY ATHENS METRO: 1 (Green Line), 3 (Blue Line), Station "Monastiraki"
BY BUS: 025, 026, 027, 035, 200, 227, 500
BY FOOT: From Monastiraki Square, follow Ermou Street towards Syntagma onto Aiolou Street and you will find the archeological area of the Roman Agora.
Churches and Monasteries
NEAR BY THE ROMAN AGORA
ShoppingSHOPPING CENTER PLAKA
A terrific one-stop shop for all your souvenir needs.... more
ACROPOLIS MUSEUM SHOP
The ground level shop has a broad selection of postcards, paper goods and the museumĘs childrenĘs collection. The second floor... more
ROYAL ORIENTAL CARPET
Make a treasure hunt out of it and discover this basement store in the most ancient area of the city... more
Vintage and Contemporary Design for the 70s nostalgic in a very interesting environment.... more
Boasting two fine boutiques in Athens and one on the Place Saint-Germain dès Prés in Paris, Zolotas has won the... more
BENAKI MUSEUM SHOP III
A beautiful space filled with unique souvenirs from the Benaki Museum – such as ceramics, silver vessels, reliefs and sculptures,... more
Snack bar on the pedestrian walkway of Romvis with fantastic tastes and a very friendly atmosphere.... more
With roots from the region of Mani in the ingredients and its recipes, it does not hold it “maniatiko” (holds... more
Bar-Restaurant on the pedestrian walkway of Aiolou Street with nice music choices.... more
Old patisserie with traditional doughnuts and cream pies for customers of every age.... more
JAMES JOYCE IRISH PUB
Original Irish pub with traditional dishes and an impressive range of whisky and spirits.... more
Nice snack bar in Plaka, away from noise and the overcrowding, with tasty dishes.... more