Greece - the country in numbers

Greece - the country in numbers

Greece, located in southeastern Europe, is part of the Balkan Peninsula and shares borders with Albania (282 km), North Macedonia (228 km), Bulgaria (494 km), and Turkey (206 km). Its national territory spans 131,957 km².

In 2024, Greece's population is approximately 10,302,720, showing a slight decrease from previous years. This decline is part of a continuing trend, with projections suggesting a further decrease in population over the coming decades​​​​​.

The country is known for its large number of islands, totaling 3,054, of which 113 are inhabited, representing over 80% of all islands in the Mediterranean Sea. Greece is administratively divided into 13 regions, including Attica, Central Greece, Central Macedonia, Crete, Eastern Macedonia and Thrace, Epirus, Ionian Islands, North Aegean, Peloponnese, South Aegean, Thessaly, Western Greece, and Western Macedonia.

Athens, the capital, is located in the region of Attica. It has an estimated population of 664,046, highlighting a significant decrease in comparison to previous census data. This indicates a trend of population concentration in urban areas, despite the overall decline in population. Thessaloniki, the second-largest city, has a population of approximately 354,290, while Patras, the third-largest city, has around 168,034 inhabitants​.

Greece's demographic challenges are reflected in its age structure and dependency ratios. The population is aging, with a significant portion above the age of 65, and the fertility rates are low, which contributes to the demographic decline. The total dependency ratio is about 51.1%, indicating a high pressure on the productive part of the population. Life expectancy at birth is approximately 79.9 years, showcasing the country's high standard of living and healthcare quality.

Urbanization continues to play a significant role in Greece's demographic landscape, with a majority of the population living in urban areas. The literacy rate is high, at 97.68% for adults aged 15 and above, indicating a well-educated populace. Despite the challenges of a declining and aging population, Greece's high level of education and healthcare contributes to its residents' quality of life​.