Political System in Greece

Political System in Greece

Greece has been a member of the European Union since 1981 and is also a member of the European Monetary Union. In 2001, the Euro replaced the long-standing Drachma as its new currency. In Greece, parliamentary democracy has been established as the permanent form of government.

The conservative New Democracy party, led by Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis, achieved a substantial victory in the elections held on May 21, 2023. Despite this win, New Democracy fell short of securing an outright majority in the parliament, leading to a second vote. Ultimately, they secured 158 seats in the 300-seat parliament, marking the beginning of Mitsotakis' second term.

Katerina Sakellaropoulou continues to serve as the President of Greece, a position she has held since 2020, making her the first woman to assume this role. The presidency in Greece is largely ceremonial, with the President acting as the head of state and performing executive and legislative functions alongside other duties. The President is elected by the Parliament for a five-year term, and Katerina Sakellaropoulou's election is a testament to Greece's evolving political landscape​.

Greece's political system remains a parliamentary representative democratic republic, where the Prime Minister is the head of government within a multi-party system. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Hellenic Parliament, with the judiciary independent of the executive and legislature. This structure promotes a balance of power and a system of checks and balances typical of Western democracies​.

The electoral system in Greece is designed to discourage splinter parties and aims to ensure that the leading party can form a viable governing majority. The system grants a 50-seat bonus to the party that receives the most votes, although this has been subject to changes and adaptations over the years​.

Greece's political parties have undergone various shifts, with significant players including New Democracy, SYRIZA (Coalition of the Radical Left), KKE (Communist Party of Greece), and others. The landscape is dynamic, reflecting the complex and changing preferences of the Greek electorate​.