The Greek Flag

The Greek Flag

The original flag of Greece had a square shape and displayed a white cross upon a blue background. The national flag of the country has been changed several times in the last 200 years.

In 1833, the Bavarian coat of arms was added to the banner and remained until the fall of King Otto. The later King George I introduced the crown on the flag. This was preserved from 1863 to 1924.

Today, the national flag of Greece consists of 9 horizontal stripes - 5 blue and 4 white alternating. In the upper corner, there is a blue canton, which extends along with the first 5 stripes and contains a white cross.

The Hellenic flag is part of the street scenery in the Center of Athens. Many government buildings, especially in the Governmental district, have both the blue and white Greek flag and the European flag attached.

Often one can see another pennant waving at public authorities in Athens - the flag of the City of Athens. It shows the helmeted head of the ancient goddess Athena on a golden cross over a blue background. The cross and goddess head are individually surrounded by a wreath of olive leaves.

While walking through Athens you will surely notice another flag attached to churches. A yellow flag with a black double eagle on a yellow background is the banner of medieval Byzantium.


A little bit of Greece
Greece - the country in numbers
Political System in Greece
The Greek Flag
The Greek Language


▶︎ A little bit of Greece
▶︎ "Typical Greek" Truth or myth?
▶︎ Greek Food & Beverages
▶︎ Greek Celebrations & Festivals
▶︎ Greek Mass Media